Ian Shires

Liberal Democrat Councillor for Willenhall North Ward, Liberal Democrat Group Leader, Walsall MBC Learn more

Read more on this

View more tweets

Read more on this

View more tweets

Lib Dem Lords Leader boycotts Parliament shutdown

by Ian Shires on 10 September, 2019

Lib Dem Leader in the Lords, Dick Newby, and the Labour Lords Leader, Angela Smith, refused to participate in the Royal Commission that will prorogue Parliament.

Image result for Dick Newby

In addition to this, Liberal Democrat peers boycotted the House during the ceremony which shut down Parliament.

Speaking ahead of the shutdown, Liberal Democrat Leader in the Lords, Dick Newby, said:

The attempt to shut down Parliament by Boris Johnson is authoritarian and anti-democratic. The fact that the Prime Minister of the United Kingdom wants to silence the people and their representatives shows that Boris Johnson will pursue Brexit at any cost, even at the cost of our democracy.

Therefore, as the Leader of the Liberal Democrats in the House of Lords, I will not partake in any prorogation ceremony. I simply refuse to be part of this affront to our democracy.

   Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>